Call for Papers

We are pleased to announce the 9th Workshop on Virtual Reality Interaction and Physical Simulation VRIPHYS 2012. The workshop is hosted by the Graduate School of Computational Engineering and the Interactive Graphics Systems Group at the Technical University of Darmstadt and Fraunhofer IGD. It is organized in cooperation with Eurographics.

VRIPHYS is one of the well-established international conferences in the field of computer animation and virtual reality. The workshop provides an opportunity for researches in virtual reality and computer animation to present and discuss their latest results and to share ideas for potential directions of future research. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • animation, e. g. physically-based, vision-based, knowledge-based and geometric approaches
  • virtual and augmented reality
  • planning, learning, optimization for animation
  • interfaces for creating and editing animations
  • perception in animation
  • autonomous characters, group and crowd behavior
  • natural phenomena
  • mathematical foundations of animation
  • haptics
  • sound interfaces
  • related techniques, e. g. collision detection and contact handling
  • applications, e. g. in robotics, medicine, entertainment

Best paper awards

A “Best Paper Award” will be given to the author(s) of a full paper presented at the conference, selected by the Organizing Committee. The “Best Paper Award” is a Tesla™ C2075 computing processor (or similar) sponsored by NVIDIA. Furthermore, the authors of the two best papers will be invited to submit an extended version to the journal Computers & Graphics.

Important dates

  • Submission: August 3
  • Notification: September 21
  • Final version: October 5
  • Conference: December 6-7

Organization Committee

Jan Bender Graduate School CE, TU Darmstadt, Germany
Arjan Kuijper Fraunhofer IGD, Darmstadt, Germany
Dieter Fellner TU Darmstadt & Fraunhofer IGD, Germany
Éric Guérin INSA Lyon, France

International Program Committee

Jérémie Allard INRIA Lille
Bedrich Benes Purdue University
Jan Bender Graduate School CE, TU Darmstadt
Robert Bridson UBC
Christophe Chaillou Université Lille 1 and INRIA
Erwin Coumans AMD
Hervé Delingette INRIA Sophia Antipolis
John Dingliana Trinity College Dublin
Kenny Erleben University of Copenhagen
François Faure Grenoble Universities
Eric Galin Université Lumière Lyon
Fabio Ganovelli National Research Concil
Joachim Georgii Fraunhofer MEVIS, Bremen
Laurent Grisoni INRIA Lille – North Europe
Takahiro Harada AMD
Thomas Jakobsen Havok Copenhagen
Torsten Kuhlen RWTH Aachen
Cesar Mendoza IHMTEK
Stéphane Mérillou University of Limoges
Matthias Müller NVIDIA Switzerland
Victor Ng-Thow-Hing Honda Research Institute
Miguel Otaduy URJC Madrid
Isaac Rudomin Tecnologico de Monterrey Mexico City
Jonas Spillmann ETH Zurich
Jos Stam Autodesk Inc.
Matthias Teschner University of Freiburg
Gabriel Zachmann University of Clausthal